Average obese woman gets just 1 hour of exercise a year

http://www.myfoxny.com/story/24774893/average-obese-woman-gets-just-1-hour-of-exercise-a-year-study

This is amazing. I know after reading this, the measurements of ‘activity’ weren’t very precise, but there is probably a lot of truth in this study.

So, little movement and obesity in women and men go together. One might cause the other, or not. But they are certainly tied together…

This is why we began our physical training. During the winter, our physical activities are much less than in summer when we have so much to do outside. Aside from shoveling snow, taking care of horses, winter stops my outdoor work; Indoor work doesn’t really enthuse me.

So, I started the routines I had started when I first retired:

  • Resistance training Mondays, Wednesdays, Fridays
  • Treadmill Tuessdays, Thursdays, Saturdays, Sundays, and any of the other days I can fit it in.

I was surprised when I got started just how much muscle I had lost. I used to use 7-8 pound dumbells for all of my upper extremities and 12-14 pounds on each ankle for my leg exercises  and it wasn’t that long ago! Now, I use 7 pounds for my biceps, 5 pounds for the triceps, 3 pounds (each hand) for overhead press and 2 pounds for lateral shoulder exercise. (I tore my rotator cuff a little over a year ago). For the legs, I started at 6 pounds/leg but have increased in a 3 week period to 8 pounds/leg. So…progress! And I am ready to increase weight in the upper extremities too!

It really doesn’t take long to see improvement. But it does take doing the exercises consistently.

Even old ladies can have muscles!

On the treadmill, I have increased to a 3.0-3.5 MPH, walking 2 miles in about 40 minutes. I started at 1 mile just to get myself on the treadmill! But now it’s becoming habit and the increases were easy. Next step is to walk an hour-about 3 miles.

So, my weight hasn’t really decreased since starting the exercise. I think I may be losing fat (my WIthings scale says I am!) and replacing it with muscle.

Ok, that figure doing the exercise might be me now!

03-Mountain-Climbers

Except I’m blonde!

 

Leave a Reply

