Recipe: low carb, gluten free eggplant parmesan

  • We had this tonight and it came out very good! Comfort food! But without the flour. Or the carbs!

Ingredients:
1 egg (I had to add another-the eggplant was huge)
1 Cup almond flour
1 Cup parmesan (calls for grated but I always use shredded)
2 tsp garlic powder
2 tablespoons oil (I use coconut oil, a medium chain oil, which has positive effect on weight loss and decrease in metabolic syndrome. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/18845704 )

Directions:

  • Whisk the egg or 2 in a small bowl.
  • Mix in a large bowl: 1 C almond flour, 1 C parmesan, 2 tsp garlic powder
  • Heat 2 tablespoons of oil in frying pan-add more oil as needed to keep the slices sizzling!
  • dip eggplant into egg; then dredge it in the flour mixture; then into the frying pan
  • Cook each piece this way, flipping to the other side after a couple of minutes.
  • Brown each piece on both sides
  • Drain on paper towels.

I place the pieces in a casserole dish and spoon on my prepared tomato sauce sprinkling with more parmesan and heat a few minutes in the oven.

This turned out very good although it seemed to brown faster than when I make it with wheat flour. Might be the coconut oil…

We had a green salad on the side with my vinaigrette.

Very appealing and very satisfying!

(Husband is .2 lb away from being under 200 lb! And his blood pressure is running 115/70.)

bth_Healthy

3 thoughts on “Recipe: low carb, gluten free eggplant parmesan

  1. peppermintfarm

    tannngl,
    Boy, that sounds delicious. Not normally an eggplant eater, but this sounds really yummy.
    And your husband is doing great. Sounds like you are so on the right track!

    Like

    Reply
    1. tannngl Post author

      I think we are, Pepper. The results are kind of astounding. Weight down 18 pounds, bp down 30 points, blood sugar always low normal. More energy (for old people :D)

      Like

      Reply
      1. peppermintfarm

        Those results are stunning and wonderful. I’ve lost 32lbs and my BP is always good ranging between 110/60 to 120/60. I’ve got my blood sugar levels down by not eating too many carbs. And energy, I feel like I’ve got back a lot of energy just losing that weight I needed to lose.

        We’re not far off in what we do with our diets but I’m always looking for new and interesting ways to cook something good like this recipe you gave out. Thank you so much for these tips. I’ve got the recipe filed in my Word so I can print it out as soon as I get the Hawk’s printer up and running again. Or I can just refer to it in Word.

        Like

Leave a Reply

